Mountain of Thoughts: Hiwada and Monomi

image

It’s strange that it’s so easy for me to get in touch with nature, attach myself to the calm rustling of trees, the coolness of rivers after a day’s hike, be at peace with the silence of the woods.. Yet I find it so difficult to get in touch with mankind.

To that I start asking myself if it was really my nature to be alone. If it could be that all souls had a soulmate, maybe my soul was just not that of a human being. I live alone. I walk alone. And that is how I survive.

image

Written during the author’s hike in Mount Hiwada and Mount Monomi, Saitama, Japan.


Leave a Reply

