Mountain and Me: Mount Tsukuba

The Mountain: Sitting just nearly two hours away from Tokyo, Mount Tsukuba is a nice little dayhike offering a breathtaking view of the Kanto Plain, and the honor to summit one of the 100 Famous Mountains of Japan. The mountain has two peaks: Nyotai (the “female” peak) at 877 masl, and Nantai (the “male” peak) at 871 masl. The entire trail is 5kms long and can be hiked in 2-3 hours. It boasts a series of unique rock formations surrounded by oak and Japanese cedar trees.
Me: For someone who had just started hiking, it took me around 3 hours to complete the trail, starting from Tsukuba Jinja Iriguchi, summiting Nantai first and then going down from Nyotai. Because of my short height, I couldn’t comfortably climb down the huge boulders, so I had to use my arms to carry myself as I lowered my legs to get from one boulder to another. Consequenty, my shoulders and back ached the night after the hike. Nevertheless, the mountain offered wonderful views and the hike was short enough that I was still able to go back to Tokyo in the evening for hanabi (thanks to the super fast and super convenient Tsukuba Express).

Leave a Reply

